Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

The end of the affair…

Watton NR August 2013 panorama

Watton Nature Reserve has been my second home for the past few years. Situated on the edge of Yorkshire Water’s Tophill Low, it was bought by the Environment Agency a few years ago and it has been, at least to me, the jewel in the crown and a safe haven for the local wildlife. But now it is up for sale and quite frankly, I’m heart-broken.

My good friend Richard Hampshire, the warden at Tophill Low, has published the details of the sale in his latest weekly blog. I would urge everyone to read it in order to gain a history of the site and more importantly, the details of the sale. Here is the link: http://tophilllow.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/watton-nature-reserve.html The guide price for the auction sale is £50 k. I wish I could afford to buy it but unfortunately, this is well beyond my means.

During the past few years I have spent hundreds of hours and taken thousand of pictures at this beautiful location. I have lost count of the number of sunsets and sunrises that I have had the good fortune to witness. I have watched roe deer running and jumping, fox cubs fighting, herons and cormorants fishing and cuckoo’s calling. Every beautiful moment has lifted my spirits and enriched my life.

Of course, there may be an outside chance that a sympathetic individual, or perhaps a group of nature lovers, may purchase the site and allow the wildlife to remain undisturbed. How I hope that this will happen. I suppose that I will have to wait and see. The one thing I can promise is that I will continue to maintain a keen interest in this unique habitat and will be watching, and watching very carefully!

Here’s a selection of images taken over the past few years that I sincerely hope will influence a prospective purchaser to maintain this site as a sanctuary for our local wildlife…

Sunrise-Tophill Low

Barn Owl look_2

Barn Owl-rear view hover

Red-Fox head detail_3

Vixen-with rabbits foot

Roe deer - dawn mist

Roe deer stag - silhouette

Redwing

Grey Heron - flying with eel

Greeting the dawn

Cuckoo-calling

Marsh Harrier and rabbit

Sparrowhawk - male on willow

Greylag-Goose_flight

Great-crested grebe-dawn flight

Whitethroat warbling

Cormorant-returning to roost

Kingfisher hover_3

Roebuck - golden light of sunset

Spring spring

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The end of the affair…

  1. Barry Oakley on said:

    What is likely to become of the site if no purchaser is forthcoming?

  2. I hope this beautiful place will find an appropriate owner . Amazing set of images.

    Regards
    rahulsarkale.wordpress.com

  3. What a beautiful location, so rich with life. So very sad about its loss but perhaps someone sympathetic will turn up (or HAS turned up, by now) to save the day. That leaping-rabbit shot at the end is unsurpassed!

Leave a Reply

