Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

Water Rail-amongst the undergrowth

The last couple of Saturday mornings have seen me trudging through the mud and water-logged fields to Tophill Low. Long, cold hours in the hide and surrounding fields have been tough on my body and mind. I finally replaced my Sorel Caribou winter boots that developed two large splits in the rubber. Ok, I may have had them for four years but I don’t exactly use them every day. Let’s hope my new North Face winter boots will keep my toes warm and dry during my trip to Iceland in a couple of weeks time.

This will probably be my final post before I return from Iceland in the middle of March. I don’t know how many winter wildlife opportunities there will be but fingers-crossed, I hope to be showing you some wonderful landscape images from my trip—later next month. So, please watch this space.

As I write this entry, it’s a dreary Sunday morning with snow forecast later. I hope you don’t mind if I just show you all a few images I’ve taken over the past couple of weeks. Here goes…

Mallard pair in the snow

Mute Swan-winter light

Grey Heron-winter flight

Teal (female)-escaping from the ice

Sparrowhawk-hunting (2)

Goldeneye (male)

Fieldfare in flight

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “

  1. Great pictures – I particularly like the Water Rail and Fieldfare. I’ve known about Tophill Low for years, but to date have never got round to visiting – maybe this year. Have a good trip to Iceland!

Leave a Reply

