Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

A short sabbatical

Filey Brigg-fishermen

After four years and over three hundred trips to Tophill Low, I’ve finally decided to take a break. Don’t worry, I don’t intend to give up taking photographs of the local fauna and I certainly don’t intend to sell my long lenses, I just need a new challenge.

I’m off to Iceland next February to photograph the winter landscape and to be honest, my skills in this area are pretty lamentable. I need all the practice I can get if I wish to return from this trip with something a little bit special. I’ve always found photographing landscapes difficult. There’s a whole new set of skills to master and I have a lot to learn. So, for the next few months, I will be posting plenty of images of the local landscapes & seascapes. I hope you will continue to read and enjoy my blog and perhaps we can all learn from my mistakes. I promise I will return to my former hunting ground in the Autumn, so please be patient!

Tophill volunteer, Katie Hostad.

Tophill volunteer Katie Hostad e-mailed me earlier this week. Thursday was going to be her last day in the area, having successfully graduated from nearby Bishop Burton college. Katie wanted one last evening photographing Tophill’s wildlife and despite my earlier resolution to concentrate on the ‘landscape’, I agreed to meet Katie at the Watton NR hide. I discovered later that Katie had walked some five miles from the main road. After some tuition, I left Katie with my camera & super telephoto lens while I chased dragonflies with my other camera and a 300 mm lens. The following three images were taken by Katie and are truly remarkable; especially as the Terns were more than 170 metres away from the hide. At that distance, you’ve got to concentrate.

I have just heard that Katie was rewarded by her mum & dad for graduating from college, with a brand new Canon EOS 550D. I’m sure that we will see more of Katie’s photographs in the very near future…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A short sabbatical

  1. Good luck with your new venture. I will be keeping an eye on your efforts.

Leave a Reply

