Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

A tale of two hides…


The end of March and I am trying to use up the rest of my holiday before I lose it. I spent Thursday afternoon at the North Marsh hide at Tophill Low. The conditions were calm and the Common Toads were everywhere! I only wished that there was a predator or two to add to the excitement, but no such luck.


However, there were several Grass Snakes around and I managed to get another photograph of one swimming on the marsh…


A Mute Swan arrived around mid-afternoon and swam around for a short while. When, I saw it at the far end of the lake, lining up, almost like a plane ready to take off, I took a deep breath and waited for the action. Luckily, my prediction was correct and the Swan charged down the lagoon directly towards the hide and I managed to get a good sequence of images as this magnificent bird slowly became air-borne.


I waited around until the light had almost gone but the Barn Owl didn’t make an appearance. Never mind, I did manage to get a reasonable photo of a humble Mallard as it displayed its fine plumage in the fading light.


I decided to re-visit the replacement hide at Watton Reserve on Friday afternoon. There was a cold easterly wind that made me wish I had brought my down-jacket rather than my fleece. A pair of Greylag geese were present and I was surprised to see that one of the pair had a missing left foot. I am not sure how this had happened but it didn’t seem to affect either it’s activities or its breeding potential.


There were at least 13 Lapwings present and a pair of Oystercatchers continued their mating…


A lone Shelduck was also present but kept its distance. Several Little Ringed Plover were also present but it is difficult to get a good photograph of such a small bird from a distance.

The highlight of the afternoon was the appearance of three Roe Deer. They ran from right to left across the narrow spit of land between the lagoons. I managed to get this flying shot of the lead Buck Roe Deer as it hurtled along causeway. (Please see the photograph at the head of this post and don’t forget to ‘click-on’ the image to see the larger version).


Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “A tale of two hides…

  1. Mandy Sears on said:

    Hi Tony. Fantastic photo of the swan’s take-off! I managed to get a shot of the snake swimming on North Marsh yesterday, too – not a patch on yours, but nice to get, all the same.

  2. Nettie Claire on said:

    Beautiful photos Tony!

Leave a Reply

