Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

Too quiet…


A very quiet weekend I’m afraid, so I had to resort to using an image from the previous Sunday. This Little egret made a short stop-over at the Watton Reserve just before sunset. It’s certainly is not a show-stopper but maybe it gives an impression of the relative size of this beautiful wader.

My talk to Driffield Fine Arts Society last Thursday, seemed to go very well with the audience. Several people asked me if there was to be a repeat showing sometime soon and I was happy to inform them that the same presentation on “The Winter Wildlife of Japan’ will be held at The Maple Room of The Bell Hotel in Driffield on Monday 6th December at 7:30 pm. All are welcome to attend—the more the merrier! It’s free too, so please come along and buy a raffle ticket. Only 50 pence; cheaper than running your central heating for a couple of hours. 😉

I had worked hard on the images, tested the projector and thought that I had covered all the bases. Not so! Firstly, my car’s headlight suddenly stopped working an hour before the show was due to start. Then the digital projector insisted on displaying my images with too much contrast and losing all the carefully balanced shadow detail. Ho-hum!

Yesterday, I spent an enjoyable afternoon shooting wildlife of another kind. I was invited along by my friend Erik to help him to photograph some models (male & female) at a fashionable hair salon in Beverley. All good clean fun and but a bit nerve racking, as it is almost twenty years since I last did some work in a studio. I doubt that you’ll see any examples on this blog but you never know?

It certainly was a lot warmer than sitting in a lonely hide on the reserve on a rainy Sunday in November. Not quite as exciting though???


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

