Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

The Triple ‘S’



Snipe, originally uploaded by Tony McLean.

An unusual week at Tophill Low and unfortunately, the Kingfisher activity has quietened down. I was sat in the hide at North Marsh on Saturday morning wondering why the Kingfishers were unexpectedly absent. After a couple of hours, an adult female appeared. Just as I had obtained focus with my 500 mm lens, a Sparrowhawk swooped down from the adjacent trees—but fortunately missed its intended prey. No wonder they were spooked. I suppose that unlike the well camouflaged Snipe above, a Kingfisher stands out like a sore thumb.

The 'lucky' escapee

Another peculiar thing happened on Saturday morning. I noticed some slight movement amongst the grasses and reeds on the nearby island. Thinking I might get another chance of capturing the elusive Stoat, I watched carefully for a few minutes. It didn’t look like a Stoat but it was difficult to see. Eventually a rather wet looking squirrel appeared. Just as I was pondering on how on earth it had made it across to the island, I got my answer. It scuttled across to the water’s edge and in the space of a few seconds, it had swam the 5 or 6 metres to the shore. Well, I never!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Triple ‘S’

  1. Mandy Sears on said:

    I’d love to have seen that!

Leave a Reply

