Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

Snipe



Snipe, originally uploaded by Tony McLean.

The last couple of evenings spent at Tophill Low have been very interesting. I got all excited on Sunday evening when I photographed what I thought was a Sparrowhawk perched on a reed at the far end of the lagoon near North Marsh hide. I was a little dismayed when I returned home and viewed the image on my computer screen only to find out that it was a Cuckoo. Thirty minutes previously, I saw this Snipe amongst the reeds. It appeared to be very nervous and stood motionless amongst the reeds before it eventually ventured out onto the lake shore.

Last night, a Grey Heron flew directly over the top of the hide and I saw the resident Little Grebe with a fish in its beak. A couple of photographs of a Barn Owl and a male Kingfisher made the evening complete. Marvellous!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Snipe

  1. Its nice to know i’m not the only one to mistake a cuckoo for a sparrowhawk, I don’t feel so bad now.

    Great site, fabulous photos.

    Chris

  2. Well I was probably considerably closer than you. Thanks anyway.

Leave a Reply

