Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

The one that got away…nearly!



Barn Owl landing, originally uploaded by Tony McLean.

The light was pretty poor this morning when my alarm went off at 5.00 am. After a quick coffee, I hauled my self down to Tophill Low with the expectation of some more Kingfisher photographs. I waited for a couple of hours in the hide and saw very little—just a few Coots and a solitary Little Grebe. I put my camera and big lens in my bag and went to close the hide window. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw a Barn Owl swoop down just a few metres from the hide. I rushed to retrieve my camera and without even fitting the lens hood or checking the settings, fired off six shots. Pity that this was the only one in focus. Never mind! Another day perhaps?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

