Tony McLean's East Yorkshire Wildlife Diary

Wildlife photography in East Yorkshire

Tophill Low

I spent two early mornings this weekend at Tophill Low photographing the local fauna. The weather was much kinder on Saturday morning and I managed to get some decent photographs of a Barn Owl in flight plus four Red Fox cubs playing in the early morning sunshine. I had to use all of the reach available to me to get an acceptable image—500mm plus the Nikon 1.7 tele converter. This morning, the weather was overcast and dull so I walked the whole circuit around the boundary of the reserve with the D3 and a 300 mm lens. Not much to show for this morning’s efforts, so I have posted a photograph of the Barn Owl in flight. Nevertheless, there was still plenty to see including a Red Fox (which promptly disappeared into the undergrowth) and my first sighting of a grass snake. A buck Roe deer was in an adjacent field as I drove to the reserve. I would have got a fabulous image if my camera had not been in the car boot!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

